Language: Русский English

TrayBatt v.2.1.0 (2017.11.11)

This program is designed to obtain information about the laptop battery using a standard Power Management API (Windows Battery API) - structures BATTERY_INFORMATION, BATTERY_STATUS.
In addition, TrayBatt works with UPS supporting UPS Smart Battery standard.
Displaying: battery level, declared capacity, actual capacity, level of destruction, voltage, rate charge or discharge, temperature of battery, model, serial number of battery, other parameters and statuses battery which it reports.
Capacity level, voltage, remaining time (calculated based on the estimated capacity and current rate) - can be displayed in the system tray.
If you hover your mouse over the displayed values, a tooltip with a short description of this value will be displayed.


The standard icon of the Windows battery indicator in the tray on many laptops shows (in the tooltip) the estimated operating time is incorrect. Because in reality the estimated battery life in a laptop depends heavily on the level of the backlight, the load on the processor and other factors. The standard Windows battery icon uses the calculation of the operating time from the function GetSystemPowerState - and there for the time is used the calculation for the instantaneous load at the time of decreasing the capacity in percent. Those. The time calculation takes place every few minutes, but does not reflect the average load for these minutes.

TrayBatt also does not calculate the average time, but does the calculation of the laptop's operating time reserve by instantaneous load every second (more precisely, uses time polls through IOCTL_BATTERY_QUERY_INFORMATION - BatteryEstimatedTime). For example, changing the brightness of the backlight or running resource-intensive applications - you can immediately see how the load changes and what time is predicted.

All information (capacity, voltage, current rate) - this is what the battery itself reports. The capacitance readings can be very inaccurate, especially for an old battery. The built-in battery controller reports for example that the charge is full, and after a few minutes the laptop suddenly turns off due to a deep discharge (because the chemical elements of the battery are worn out, and the battery wear is not always predictable for self-diagnosis). So you can not completely trust the battery monitoring readings.

History of development program:
v.2.1 (2017.11.11)Minor improvements;
v.2.0 (2017.08.01)Add tooltips, add poll GetSystemPowerStatus;
v.1.2 (2017.04.02)Updated list of battery chemistry codes;
v.1.1 (2016.12.17)Minor improvements;
v.1.1 (2016.10.31)First public version.

Language: Русский English

TrayBatt v.2.1.0 (2017.11.11)

Эта программа предназначена для получения информации о батарее ноутбука при помощи стандартного Power Management API (Windows Battery API) - структуры BATTERY_INFORMATION, BATTERY_STATUS, GetSystemPowerState (пока что TrayBatt не умеет показывать какие-либо недокументированные параметры батарей).
Так-же программа работает с ИБП поддерживающими стандарт UPS Smart Battery.
Отображается: уровень заряда батареи ноутбука, заявленная ёмкость батареи ноутбука, реальная ёмкость батареи ноутбука, уровень износа, напряжение батареи, текущий ток заряда или разряда, температура батареи, модель, серийный номер батареи, и прочие параметры и статусы батареи которые она сообщает.
Уровень заряда, напряжение, оставшееся время работы (приблизительно рассчитывается средствами Windows по току и ёмкости) могут быть выведены в трей.
Если навести мышь на отображаемые значения - то будет показана всплывающая подсказка с кратким описанием этого значения.


Стандартный значок индикатора батареи Windows в трее на многих ноутбуках показывает (во всплывающей подсказке) расчётное время работы неправильно. Потому что в реальности расчётное время работы от аккумулятора в ноутбуке сильно зависит от уровня подсветки, нагрузки на процессор и прочих факторов. Стандартная иконка аккумулятора Windows использует расчёт времени работы из функции GetSystemPowerState – а там для времени используется расчёт по моментальной нагрузке в момент уменьшения ёмкости в процентах. Т.е. расчёт времени происходит раз в несколько минут, но не отражает усреднённую нагрузку за эти минут.

TrayBatt тоже не делает расчёта усреднённого времени, но делает расчёт запаса времени работы ноутбука по моментальной нагрузке каждую секунду (точнее, использует опросы времени через IOCTL_BATTERY_QUERY_INFORMATION - BatteryEstimatedTime). Например меняя яркость подсветки или запуская ресурсоёмкие приложения – можно сразу видеть как изменяется нагрузка и какое время работы прогнозируется.

Вся информация (ёмкость, напряжение, потребляемый ток) – это то что батарея сама о себе сообщает. Показания ёмкости могут быть очень не точные, особенно у старого аккумулятора. Встроенный контроллер батареи сообщает например что заряд полный, а по факту через несколько минут ноутбук неожиданно отключается из-за глубокого разряда (потому что химические элементы батареи изношены, а износ аккумуляторов далеко не всегда идёт предсказуемо для самодиагностики). Так что полностью доверять показаниям мониторинга аккумуляторной батареи – нельзя.

История развития программы:
v.2.1 (2017.11.11)Мелкие доработки;
v.2.0 (2017.08.01)Добавлены всплывающие описания по всем значениям, добавлены новые константы, добавлен опрос GetSystemPowerStatus;
v.1.2 (2017.04.02)Обновлён список кодов химического типа батарей;
v.1.1 (2016.12.17)Мелкие доработки для будущего развития;
v.1.1 (2016.10.31)Первая публичная версия.